My First Overshot

Today I am looking at the pictures of my first overshot project. When I was first starting out on my weaving adventure, I was given a copy of A Handweaver’s Pattern Book by Marguerite Porter Davison and there fell in love with the overshot patterns. I then fell in love with one pattern in the section called Squares and Borders. So my first big weaving project was a cover for our pillows in Norse Kitchen (p.186).

I wove the ground and pattern all in the same color. It has a nice sheen to it that makes it nice to look at though at this point I do wish I had woven it a bit tighter.

I don’t have a good picture of the fringe. I did a bit of fancy work there and so it helped it be a bit longer as I did miscalculate the length. (math is totally not within my strengths.) If you click on the picture you can see it better.

Now I don’t use this on the pillows anymore as my Sam loves to hang out snuggled up close to the pillows and of course you can tell where he hangs out and it was getting a bit used looking. So I have since woven the name draft cover in greens and keep pillows in front of it so that he can’t rub off on it as well.

Categories: Weaving | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

