A Quickie but a Workhorse

OK, I have waited too long to post again and I do have things to record here so will start today with a simple one.

Back a year or more ago I was into Shadow Weave and Color and Weave. I did several different patterns, and as usual some worked well and some did not. It really matters in both that you do use the right colors to play off of each other or the effect becomes too subtle to see.

In the midst of this a friend and I did a guild meeting on Shadow Weave. I wanted some easy projects to show. There are so many things you can do with weaving that do not require a big loom, and I wanted to maybe impact someone to even try something smaller. (There are a lot of spinners in our small guild and fewer weavers.)

I then came across Log Cabin on a pot holder loom, too cute, too simple, had to try it.

Log Cabin Potholder

So here it is as it looked two days ago. I had some old socks I never wore so cut them into loops and away we went with the pattern. It was fun and so quick to do. And in the end … I have a wonderful potholder that is just the right size for my small cast iron skillet. I use this pot holder several times a week with that skillet and it even comes out for the larger cast iron as well.

So for the cost of a little bit of time and a sock from two different pairs I never wore, I now have my work horse potholder for the cast iron.

I really should make more of these.

Categories: Weaving | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A Quickie but a Workhorse

  1. Ooh, I need to learn to do that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

