My New to Me Loom!!!!

Some of you know the trials of the loom that was given me by a generous friend once the brake broke, and we were never able to get it right again. The Allen Folding Loom had shown me many things about weaving not the least being that with my troubled warping – sectional was the way for me.

Allen Folding Loom

Allen Folding Loom

But alas despite the wonders of sectional, the ease of counterbalance, my eyes were casting about for a new loom that could do more and had a wonderful working brake. So one day I just pointed out to Mark that there was this loom for sale. Wonder of wonders, he said I could check it out but alas and alack it was sold already. But that did put the bee in the bonnet and Mark started looking for looms all over the internet and finding all the for sale pages out there.

So he found a Glimakra Standard and bought it. Wish I had a picture of how it arrived at our house but alas the picture taking didn’t come till later. Mark started immediately putting it together. And soon we had a frame up in my studio (such a big word for taking over the upstairs den).

My new loom with the basics up.

My new loom with the basics up.

Wow, wasn’t this getting exciting. I forget where I went this particular night (probably a guild meeting somewhere) but I left Mark at this point with all the shafts, lamms, and treadles in a bundled mess of the original tie cords all wrapped around it all as the last tie up had been. Quite the mess that he was going to leave for me to sort.

Sorting the mess of strings and wood.

Sorting the mess of strings and wood.

Alas Mark couldn’t leave it alone and did start on it. He put the jacks and their case up on top and then started working out each string and piece. By the time I got home the pieces were all where they belonged and looking beautiful.

Fuzzy picture of shafts, lamms, and treadles all untangled.

Fuzzy picture of shafts, lamms, and treadles all untangled.

We did order the Texsolv tie-up and heddles so soon had these strings all taken out and new ones threaded in. It was looking exciting and I was soon putting on a short warp to use to get everything organized and in its place to begin weaving.

Bringing the warp through the heddles.

Bringing the warp through the heddles.

Boy, was it fun to get to sit inside the loom and thread the heddles. No leaning over a back beam or stretching out. Everything could be set at a comfortable level and away we went.

Now this next picture shows how I don’t worry how I dress at home. Whatever is easiest to grab and put on is what happens. So ignore the fact that the shirt and skirt totally don’t go together. Alas they do wear together well but if anyone is worried – no I do not leave the house like this but when husbands grab cameras you can get caught in such a state.

Starting thefirst throw of the shuttle on the new loom.

Starting the first throw of the shuttle on the new loom.

How marvelous it was to be at it though this first bit didn’t seem very good at all so it was back to the drawing board to organize and see what needed fixed. Then it was at it again with a new thread and I do love what is happening now.

Space dyed weft and green warp. Looking pretty.

Space dyed weft and green warp. Looking pretty.

All is not perfect yet and as soon as I finish writing this it will be back to change the height of the shafts but I think I do understand it all now, and we will be in business to fly through this short warp and go on the next warp in the queue.

Categories: Weaving | Tags: , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “My New to Me Loom!!!!

  1. Congratulation on the new loom! You’ll enjoy weaving even more without having to fight your loom

    Like

  2. Lou

    Hat’s off to you … And Mark … Can’t wait to see your output from this loom. Congratulations!

    Like

  3. Robin

    Congratulations! My instructor has one of these and LOVES it! And, where is your Allen loom going?

    Like

    • It is going back to the gal that gave it to me. It was her sister’s, so she wants it it back.

      Like

      • Robin

        My grandfather built the Allen looms. I am always glad to hear one is loved!

        Like

    • That is a great heritage Robin. When she gave me the loom it was in pieces and it was my first. I found 2 pictures online of one and my husband got it all together and working. It did good service for several years until the brake broke and we could never get it to work right again. It did send me down the sectional road and my new loom is also sectional.

      Like

      • Robin Krause

        If your sister needs brake parts and is willing to do some work, I can get her a redesign. My uncle built the Allen looms after my grandfather redesigned the brake (yay, Uncle Doug!).

        Like

  4. Robin Krause. I would love to pass that information on to Jane if you can give it to me. I know we gave up on trying to get a brake to work on it again. She would appreciate it and get it working again.

    Like

    • Robin

      Sure. If she can work from pictures, I can send her parts. Or, she can wait until we rework one of mine and we can give more instructions. It is basically a ratcheting system with an attachment to the foot pedal. I think the warp beam may need to be removed and shortened, but won’t know until we get into it.

      Like

      • I know she won’t be working with it for some time so it can wait. I will let her know though that there is hope.

        Like

      • Erica Borg

        Hi Robin. I just got an Allen loom (stored in a garage for quite a while) and would appreciate any help I can find for getting it cleaned up and how to set it up. Thanks!

        Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

