What to do with Small Bits

After I was having so much fun with triaxial weaving, I had to decide what would be a good use of these pieces I was creating. They don’t lend themselves to the normal towels, scarves, shawls, etc. of normal weaving. Then in perusing some of my small bits of woven cloth – you see when I spend that much time on a piece, I just can’t through away those little bits left over after making a project – I decided to try my hand at making some cards.

Now to find cards with windows in them has not been easy – at least on this side of the pond. I found quite a few on the other side for too much. So I decided to try and make my own. Here are the first results.

 

Bomber Flight

Bomber Flight

Color and Weave

Color and Weave

These first two are leftovers from other projects. I love how the bomber (in posts here and here) was the perfect size for the card opening I made. Also the color and weave pattern fit with three sections perfectly in the window.

 

 

 

 

Spaced dyed weft

Spaced dyed

Log Cabin

Log Cabin

These two also looked great. My first successful Log Cabin pattern, which I love how 3D it looks, and then a woven
piece that is a false plaid in that the warp and weft are space dyed yarn and the plaid look is a result of the color repeat in the yarn.

 

 

 

 

Purple Star

Purple Star

White and Gold Triaxial

White and Gold Triaxial

I love my triaxial weavings and these two fit so nicely in the windows. I also like the contrast with the card though the lilac color is prettier in reality than I could get a picture. The gold box in a sea of quartz is quite a piece of eye candy. That piece took a bit to make.

 

 

 

 

Pastel boxes

Pastel boxes

Tri-color Boxes

Tri-color Boxes

Here are two more triaxial woven pieces that I had woven and now are resting in windows in cards. The pastel pattern looks great in the lilac card. Then this is my very first triaxial piece that I wrote about here. I dearly love the look of it and how you can play with it with your eyes and it can change its look.

 

I loved making these cards and plan on continuing with them.

Categories: Weaving | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

