Lee’s Surrender Finished!

It seems like a sad day to write such a title but even as we remember 150 years ago and the Battle of Gettysburg beginning today, I have finally finished my miniature Lee’s Surrender. Here is original post.  And no I don’t think we really know where this pattern received its name.

Miniature of Lee's Surrender with beaded edges

Miniature of Lee’s Surrender with beaded edges

I bought some beautiful variegated beads from Pat Powell Designs that matched this variegated thread almost perfectly. I then set about deciding what pattern to use.

The second beaded edge that is so much better

The second beaded edge that is so much better

I decided to do this row of beads I saw as a base and then do the netted beads on that. It took me a bit to get a good hang of how to attach the beads but finally got it almost perfect on the second end. Having the row of beads on made it easy to get a perfect spacing for the netted beads. There are three beads between each point of the netting.

It surprised me how green the green beads look in all the pictures. They are not so eye catching in reality.

It surprised me how green the green beads look in all the pictures. They are not so eye catching in reality.

I am pretty happy with the piece and happy its edges finally got hemmed and fancified. I am loving adding beads to the edges of handwoven, just wish it was a bit quicker to do. But I found it a good excuse to just sit and watch Midsomer Murder as opposed to up and at it.

Categories: Weaving | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

