An Idea Finally Comes Round

So I am really a kid that hasn’t grown up. I feel like one most of the time and not anything near what the calendar says I should be. So I guess it isn’t surprising that I love toys, and I love Jacob’s Ladders.

I was looking through a book I have that I have no idea where it came from. I can generally tell you where every book I have was gotten but this one, hmmm… I just don’t know. It appeared, or reappeared, one day and has no marks in it so I didn’t steal it from a library. Guesses could be made. But on with the tale. I love most everything in it and an idea formed. What if I could make a Jacob’s ladder with card that have swatches on them and the ribbon immeshed in between cards and maybe sayings on the backsides? So I dug things out to try it. Couldn’t find many things and have even done the inevitable buying of more cardstock as who knows where my big paper box is in the garage.Now I have had to keep things really neat here as we are still showing this house but woe to whoever comes upstairs at the moment as it will tell of a person who loves creating, whether good at it or not,  has limited stuff out, and so is experimenting on small scale.

This week has been an exercise in trial and error. I understand, relatively, how a Jacob’s Ladder works. I have made wooden ones before so this isn’t new territory. But this was just not getting through this brain how it went together. In the end after countless trials and errors. I think I know my basic mistake is a need to switch things over between each new set but to get that down in a written form that I will understand the next time will be another matter.

Anyway, here is my reminder of this little project.

This was a Nothing Ventured Nothing Gained sort of project

This was a Nothing Ventured Nothing Gained sort of project

Weaving a Pattern of Dark and Light

Weaving a Pattern of Dark and Light

Thoughts are but dreams till their effects be tried. So goes with this project.

Thoughts are but dreams till their effects be tried. So goes with this project.

As nothing will come of nothing we have ventured.

As nothing will come of nothing we have ventured.

Now if you haven’t seen a Jacob’s Ladder in action, you must go and find a video of one. If you haven’t played with one, you must buy or make one. So much fun and changes that can be made.

Here we are at angles with ourself.

Here we are at angles with ourself.

Now to actually make one that will be really nice.

 

Categories: Fiber Arts, Tidbits, Weaving | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “An Idea Finally Comes Round

  1. What great fun. Bet there are some other ‘toys’ that can be made as well.

    Like

  2. I hope you’ll perfect this and post a tutorial–the concept is brilliant!

    Like

  3. Julia, this is such a fun way to have a sampler keepsake of your work. Great idea!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

