Sale Time Again

Well tomorrow I take some of my things to the sale and I feel the same as last year and want to quote as I did then.

“So my thoughts turned to Anne Bradstreet’s poem “The Author to Her Book”. You see, she was a Puritan poet. She wrote mostly privately but her brother, unbeknownst to her, took her poems and had them published. She was shocked by this and thus came this wonderful poem about her children being thrust out into the world and not thinking them quite ready for it yet. And considering that mine all have to do with weaving, one part of her poem is rather humorous by comparison.

In better dress to trim thee was my mind,
But nought save home-spun cloth, i’ th’ house I find.”

All in all I feel some better about things this year. Learned a bit and think that they are better than before. Well, except for a few great pieces that didn’t come home. But still they are but home-spun and no fine dress to trim them with.

One thing I tried new this year was to frame some triaxial in glass frames I found. I loved them and Mark asked for one for his desk at work. He doesn’t praise much but that made me feel good about them. Gave another away as a gift and it was loved. So hopefully they will find good homes or else will be great Christmas gifts.

A few items.

A few items

Interesting between these is that the plainest one (to me) is actually the most interesting when held up to the light. That led to these as the frames are see through, and you can look through the pastel one, and it changes colors and shapes. It takes so little to entertain some of us.

Categories: Tidbits | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Sale Time Again

  1. Great! Send this post link to Lou so she can put it on the guild blog, too. Please?
    Diane

    Like

  2. Julia, these are beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

