My Old Workhorse

I originally wove and sewed my workhorse back what seems like years ago but was only about 5 years give or take. I wrote about it in Weaving With Handspun. Now these three pieces, at that time, were a pocket, bonnet, and apron. The bonnet went the way of bonnets with me. It was lost somewhere, besides at home. Only the Good Lord or whoever came across it later know what became of it. I do tend to loose bonnets when out and about. But alas I really didn’t cry over it much as I never looked good in it and it seemed a bit smallish. Actually stuffing all my hair in it was a chore. The pocket gets used everytime I go out to events. Always need somewhere to stash stuff on myself.

But the apron. Ahhhhh…. I love that one. It is a bit short and could have been several inches longer, but that doesn’t hinder its usefulness.

IMG_2548

Getting ready to put her away again.

I wrote before about how sturdy it is, how it was woven, but I did get some close ups of it this time.

IMG_2549 (1)

The thick learning to weave cotton weft

Version 2

We are getting better and thinner at this cotton spinning

Version 3

We’ve gotten much better at spinning cotton and even have it in thin close rows now.

This apron is good to wear when demonstrating or reenacting as I can show the difference in my learning to spin cotton with the three sections of weft with the thicker at the bottom and the thinner at the top.

But this isn’t where this post is really going. You see, Saturday I was at Winedale Old Fashion Christmas with some friends having an 1850s Christmas in the rain. Yes, it rained and there were some intrepid visitors who came around and saw us but for the most part we just enjoyed being with each other.. getting wet.

 

IMG_2539

A moment of little rain so time to get a picture.

When it was time to leave it was raining, of course, and I needed to go get my car. So not having a hat, I made the decision to not wonder how I would look, but that I would take a hint from Dilue Harris. You see, she was involved in the Runaway Scrape (If you don’t know what that is, just ask. I will be happy to tell you more than you ever wanted to know.). When crossing the San Jacinto River she lost her bonnet (we have something in common) which wasn’t a good thing. After the Battle of San Jacinto and her family was returning home, they came close by the battleground. She wanted to go and see it but alas had lost her bonnet. What was a girl to do? So she tied her apron over her head and thus went to see where the battle that gave Texas her independence took place.

So yes, with little ado about how silly I looked, my apron was tied on my head and off I headed into the rain. Can I just say she came through again for me. I hurried off holding three petticoats and a full 1850s skirt up out of the puddles. Actually, that was useless, I was really holding them up to make quick walking a good bit easier. I sunk in over my shoe once. But what of all the apron covered? That piece of linen and cotton never let a drop of rain through. My head and back, as far as it reached, were as dry as if we were sitting at home by the fireplace. It held up once again to its workhorse image. Nothing that beautiful but if you ever need to pick up a castiron pot on a fire, just fold over once and have at it. If it is hot and dreadful day, just wipe away and it will keep the sweat at bay. If you have to run in the rain, it will keep you as dry as being home.

Categories: Sewing, Weaving | Tags: , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

