My Apron is Now Blue

Yes, I had a desire to dye my workhorse apron blue. It is the apron that has managed to make it to more than one entry here. From the moment that I wove the cloth and completed the sewing. Then it has been a help so many times – needing hot pads for cast iron pots or an umbrella in a gully washer. On a hot Texas summer day, it was so handy for wiping away sweat. It had all the marks of its life but still going strong as ever.

IMG_7358

My set up

But what does one do when they come home with indigo? They look for something to turn blue and my apron went in the pot. I poured out the large container of dye into a bucket my husband got me, and I let it sit. Then I added color release (oh, what is its proper name?) to the pot a couple of times and then got a fairly green paper towel twist. So in went the apron. And then laid out. It was a bit windy this particular day so hence the cardboard protecting the pot from blowing bits of this and that while awaiting the next dunking.

At first I didn’t think it was really working and I was going to have to go in and read a good bit more. But… Then I pulled it out and it had that greenish hue that was exciting to see turn blue. So I laid it out to oxidize and came back later. In it went again. I so wanted to get a picture of that greenish hue before it really oxidized but alas and alack it always turned before the camera could catch it. Even when I got the tripod out and only had to hit the button. I am wondering though about slowing that change down. I’m sure it had to do with how well set up the pot was and as I’m still a green newbie at it… Much to learn yet.

IMG_7367

It  is getting darker

But for a good bit of the day I kept dunking the apron and then taking it out. Laying it out to oxidize. Constantly having to move the drying rack as the sun passed across the sky as I did read to keep it in the shade while processing. It started much closer to the back door than it finished.

I loved the dark wet color so kept at it a couple more times and finally declared it done and let it dry completely. I could be happy if it were even darker than it is but all in all it is a pretty good color. Then I read Connie’s notes on finishing and so I washed and set and declared it completed. That was just in time to wear it last Saturday.

IMG_7408

Ready to head out

Saturday, Texas 180th Independence Day celebration was at Washington-on-the-Brazos not far from me. Since joining the guild in Bryan, I had the opportunity to go out to Barrington Farm and demonstrate spinning for the day. I love spinning and talking history so what is a better way to spend a day? As I was getting ready to head out early, Mark got a picture of me in my handwoven dress and now handwoven, partly handspun, indigo dyed blue apron. Had the car packed with my wheel, wool, cotton, bench, niddy noddy, and much more, because you never know what question will be asked or what you will decide that you wished you had brought along.

It was a beautiful sunny day. With a wonderful breeze that only got in the way when trying to card wool and then take it off the cards and roll it up. I learned to aim the cards in just the right direction to let the breeze help me and not hinder.

I had several great conversations. I guess when you love history, and you think everyone should love it as much as you, and they should want to learn all they can; you love it when someone comes by and wants to listen and ask questions. Though near the end was the best part of the day. A group stopped by and the mother had that look of someone who had spun out of necessity in her life. I asked if she had and through her children translating for us, I learned she had spun but with a wheel that you turned with a handle. I did a first and asked if she would like sit and try my wheel out. I never let people touch it when demonstrating, but I couldn’t help myself here.  I learned that they were from Damascus, and I was amazed that here was a lady from the oldest city in the world (continuously lived in) sitting at my wheel taking part in one of the oldest occupations in the world. I was so in the moment that I just lived it and now have so many questions I would love to ask her and her children. She had that wonderful old sweet grandma look about her and her kids were in their 20s or so maybe young 30s by my guess. Oh, I want to talk with them now.

That aside I had a wonderful day. Lovely day. Sweet day. Thank you Lord for the blessing of it.

And you never know who you will meet.

 

IMG_2762

My spot for the day

Categories: dyeing, Spinning | Tags: , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “My Apron is Now Blue

  1. Your apron is perfectly beautiful. So happy you dyed it. You look so very much at home spinning while dressed up in your historic garb.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this post – everything about it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Connie Elliott

    Yup, a great job on that apron! Perhaps what you need now is more indigo to add to the pot. And, of course, RIT color remover to reduce it. Ah, I see a dye garden in your future……

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

