Red, Yellow, and Blue, What Fun!

wild hog

Wild hog fresh off the fire

Early Saturday I headed east from Lexington for Jesse Jones Park in Humble where I volunteered when we lived that way. It was fun to head out for a Second Saturday despite the drive being 4 times as long as it once was and it not being perfect weather. Now I know these pictures make it look like a lovely day, but the weather was a fickle maiden this day.

The theme of the day was food from the fire. There was a wild pig spitted and roasted over night to be enjoyed. These pigs are way too abundant and tear up all in their path. There were also set ups of castiron dutch oven cooking with savory and sweet. Wonderful tastes for all to enjoy.

pullingcottonseeds

Maureen warping a loom in the shade out of the occasional rain. Jane showing visitors how to get seeds out of cotton.

But I also took out the dyes left over from Art Camp and as a continuation of the theme from last month, spinning and weaving, we had some dyeing going Saturday this month as well as a new weaver trying to learn to warp a loom and people wanting to know what that wheel did.

We had the three pots from Art Camp going. The cochineal and osage orange on a very low fire that someone put more wood on that shouldn’t have. Oh well, it didn’t ruin anything, but my idea of a small fire and others wasn’t quite the same. Then the indigo pot was at work on the table. We tried to make sure we did everything as we were taught at Art Camp, alas, and with me there is always an alas, but alas we did have one bit that never got put out but it wasn’t a flop so can’t complain.

cochineal

The cochineal pot

The afternoon was spent trying to keep the occasional drizzle and big drops out of the pots. Especially the indigo. We dropped in cloth the park is going to make into aprons. Roving of both cotton and wool went in different pots. Dresser scarves of unknown fiber. And Maureen even took off her apron when she decided she would love a blue one instead of white.

We were thankful that the Lord provided us with a tree that had a branch that just went off on its own almost horizontal to the ground. As we were out without a clothes line the leaning branch became our old fashion hanging rack to let the indigo items air in the oxygen before going back in the pot.

 

osage orange

The osage orange pot

I had pieces left over from Art Camp so threw some of them in the pots. So we experimented. I even went for an orange and it isn’t a bad one either. I don’t really care for orange but it is quite muted. I also threw in a silk piece. First in the cochineal and then the indigo. It is the most lovely mauvey purple one could want. I so love how it came out.

I did ask about the time once and a gal said that it was late. I about panicked as I did have a two hour drive home. But it turned out her definition of late and what I would have called late back in my old days at the park were two different things. It was actually just normal time when things start shutting down. We had two hours yet before we would have thought it late in the old days. Doesn’t that sound bad. But those days are over a year ago now. Time sure flies when you’re older.

indigo

The end of watching the magic

We did get the fun of watching the cloths come out of the indigo bath and turn from a yellow green to blue. I don’t think I will ever be tired of watching the magic happen. We even had the idea of trying to get some video of it happening. But best laid schemes. We were all ready and pulled out the cloth, had video going, or so it seemed. After I got home and watched it, it turned out it didn’t start at the first press of the button, but started when it was pressed again to stop. So I clipped a picture of the cloth all blue and if one were to want to they can watch the top of the table and listen to us talk to visitors who came by while we were trying to do this. Oh, and yes my dress is my first outfit that I don’t wear anymore, but if one is playing around dye baths, if I’m playing around dye baths, I figured I better wear something that wouldn’t matter if I spilled the indigo completely over. Actually, I made it out with only my hands very blue but with some scrubbing, I only have blue finger nails now. It is wearing off but indigo does love protein. And yes, my hair is down. I had to wash it Friday, and there was just no way it was going to stay in a bonnet. So it won and I had a mess to comb out when I got home.

indigo hanging

Part of our afternoons work.

warpreed

Time spent with friends away from the crazy modern world.

Categories: dyeing | Tags: , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Red, Yellow, and Blue, What Fun!

  1. A perfect drying tree. It’s always a pleasure to read about the events you get involved in… 🙂
    Diane

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

