Colors That Came out of the Pot

So I was dyeing Saturday and my pieces are now washed and dried and ready for a new life. But what did I get?

IMG_8674

Beautiful Silk

I couldn’t get pictures that really showed the colors well. Still a lot to learn with a camera. But this piece came out just lovely. (At the rate I’ve used lovely on this and the last post, you would think I’d been spending time reading items from England, and you would be right.) But anyway, I dropped this piece of silk in the cochineal pot first. Didn’t stay in long but it did come out a nice pink color. Then I dropped it in the indigo pot. When I pulled it out, I was amazed at the lovely color. It shows a bit of the pink and the blue but mainly it is this absolutely lovely mauvey purple. I will have to find a use fitting to its color and silk.

indigo hanging

Hanging between dunkings

Here are the three dresser scarves. I bought them while in Germany and the Good Lord only knows what their fiber make up is. But I was thinking that a nice green would be better than white in our new bedroom. So in they went in the osage orange bath. After a good bit of time, they then visited the indigo bath several times. I never could decide if they looked very green but there was definitely a hue there hiding.

dresserscarfosage

Home and getting rinsed

But when I got them home and was rinsing them, it was quite an odd event. The water went all yellow/green. It was like the osage orange orange was maybe washing out from under the indigo. Could it be I should have waited longer between taking it out of the osage orange and putting it in the indigo? Odd but we continued rinsing till it was clear. Hmmm… What was I going to end up with?

IMG_8679

A close look of the scarf

 

Again I didn’t get the picture to look as close as I would have liked. But they ended up a very dusty blueish color. They look like there is more grey in them. A quite lovely color though not green. Well, in my eyes. My husband says there is some green there to him. I do love the color. Not what I was hoping for but they aren’t still white, I do like the color, and they will look fine in the bedroom.

IMG_8689

This should be a soft orangey color

So then in went a piece of cotton. First the osage orange a bit of time and then the cochineal. It is not an in your face orange. But very soft. Now I hate yellow and have a dislike of orange, but this came out a nice comforting color. Not bad at all. Will have to find a good use for it as well.

My only other piece was the one that I’m holding in the picture that was suppose to be a video in the last post. It is just a nice mottled blue. A good piece of not very dark indigo.

So my own dyed items from Saturday. It was quite a fun adventure. Not sure I would get enough into dyeing to want to get too particular for particular colors, but having the pots and just experimenting is a good bit of fun. I probably got some colors I like better than if I had tried for something I wanted.

Categories: dyeing | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

