What to do with Thrums?

I had seen a project using thrums a long time ago. Who knows really when, but it always stuck in my brain. It would take quite a few and not seem to take lots of time. Well, I needed one product to make it easily, and it seemed to hide when I looked for it. But as we had a rough Sunday evening, I went shopping Monday. Well, not totally the reason I went shopping, I needed to go do some shopping, but I made a day of it in the end. It kept the mind busy on other things. And in the process, I found what I needed for this project. So yesterday we gave it a shot.

I was going to make a scarf sewing thrums together. Though it had been ages since seeing it originally, I didn’t think it would take much to recreate. So I finally found some wash away stabilizer.

img_3566

Wash away it says, will it actually do it?

Thankfully I found this at Hobby Lobby and the price seemed a bit high to me for an experiment but then it was nice to whip out the phone and Hobby Lobby app and get a quick 40% off.

I decided a 2 yard scarf would be a good place to start. So cut two lengths of 2 yards and laid it out on the table. Then I got the glass jar full of thrums down (no I do not throw away weaving thrums or much of anything handmade. Getting better at tossing those tiny bits but not yet totally.) and started pulling out yarn and laying it out on the stabilizer.

img_3560

How much do you layer it?

I did have a time deciding how much to put down and what colors. Then as I rolled it up, I had to decide if I wanted to keep it looking the same all the way along and … oh dear, would I remember what all and how much of each I put down in each section? Of course not.

img_3561

I think it needs a good bit more.

So layers and layers of the different colors went on the stabilizer. Actually a trip down memory lane as I remembered what each of these yarns had been a part of creating. Some favorites and some not so favorites.

Then came the sewing. A bit tricky. Especially since I’m not great with a machine anyway. But we went to town.

img_3567

The first of the sewing before it went south

So freeform sewing was attempted. A bit wobbly and crazy but it seemed that it really didn’t matter how things went as long as there was no major shift in what was there. Then the bobbin ran out.  I refilled it. Started again. Things went south. It had a bit of a time not balling up. But after cutting it out (yes, I had to cut it away from the machine) and refreshing the machine, it seemed to work better. Not sure what the problem was in there. A bit of tension problems?

So we finally finished sewing and went to wash out the stabilizer.

img_3569

Drying and wondering

I was amazed at how easily the stabilizer washed out. Rather quite quickly it just all dissolved into nothing and I had my scarf. So after the rinse we laid it out for the night and waited for it to dry.

This morning I checked on it and it had worked.

img_3573

A finished scarf – maybe

It is one piece of “fabric” or whatever one would call it. It all holds together. You can wrap it around and it hangs nicely.

Is it perfect? No. Of course not. I had tried to lay out the threads so that no ends hung out on the edges but there are many hanger outers. I think I could have done more sewing on it to hold more in place but then also it does have quite a 3D look to it and more sewing would probably flatten that out quite a bit. One half did end up with quite a bit more on it than the other, and I like the thick end better.  The thicker end holds together better or at least looks better. You don’t notice the sewing in it like the thinner end. Just wish now I knew which end was which though I think I could guess. (After more perusing of pictures and knowing what end I was at in them. The thick end was the second half.) So need to find a way to keep it thick and even all the way through.

Funny I’m typing with it here in my hands (or lap while typing) and the more I study it the less I’m liking how it came out. I’m seeing so much that needs to be better. Well, I have enough stabilizer for another one so will try again. Need to sort yarns so that I know how much is going in each half or else do it on a longer table where it can all lay out at once. Or …. so much to think and improve but I’m happy with the start.

My other project of the last entry? It keeps growing with the pattern I’m crocheting around the outside, well, I have to spin some more yarn and get enough black to finish of one layer and then get more for the next layer …. will there ever be an end? I am going to Yarnorama tomorrow so will see what they have to offer. Would be so much quicker to just get a yarn and finish it but as it started all handspun, it will end all handspun.

Categories: Fiber, Fiber Arts | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “What to do with Thrums?

  1. Love this kind of work. It seems happy. It’s also a great way to use up those wonderful scraps too good to throw away.

    Like

  2. Cool idea!

    Like

  3. Linda Williams

    I LIKE it!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

