The Rooster May Crow, but the Hen Lays the Egg

Ok, so my chickens are making possible liars of me on Facebook. I have hence decided that the story needed a larger platform, and just for the memories here is what has happened over the last three days.

Yes, I was on normal afternoon chores when glancing in the coop, I suddenly realized there was something in a nesting box that wasn’t there before. Went to open the boxes and sure enough we had our “first” egg.

img_1192

“First” egg?

 

We were excited. I even posted this picture on Facebook. OUR FIRST EGG!!! Actually wasn’t expecting any till at least another month. See these girls are only 6 months old and, yes, that is when they should start laying but winter is a slow season for eggs and not wanting to rush them, we didn’t do any of the “keep those eggs coming” tricks.

Next day I glance in the coop and thought a girl had popped an egg while on the roost and it had fallen and broken as it looked like half a shell on the floor. But when I reached in, lo and behold, it actually was a shell-less egg. Read about them but so cool to actually hold one.

img_3818

Shelled egg left, shell-less right

So got a picture of the two eggs together. Ever so happy. We are on our way. Our first two eggs. What joy! I may not have to buy any more in a very short time.

Then. After shopping today. Mark calls. I was on my way home. Did I know there was a nest in the barn and there are seven eggs in it? WHAT??!!?? Yes, the girls had fixed themselves up with the preferred nesting area and were busy laying eggs in the barn. They had quite a nice nest. All private in a corner. Full of eggs.

img_1217

Behind the old tractor

They actually had done a good job of it for a bunch of girls without mothers to show them the way. Amazing how God put in them the innate ability to do their job. Of course, having mothers to help is better, but thankful they don’t have to have a mother nearby. These twelve girls are figuring life out together.

img_1216

A nest of 7 eggs of both types of chickens

Then to top the afternoon off, Mark did check the nesting boxes again on our way back to the house and there was another egg. For a total haul of eight today.

img_1226

Today’s gathering

So the question remains. What was our first egg? The one I posted so happily, proudly on Facebook? Or one of these seven found in the barn. I haven’t the slightest idea. I guess I don’t know if I ate the first one for breakfast this morning or not. I do know that it was good, and I am sure that these will be good as well. Anyway, we may have to have an omelet here. I did come home with an 18 pack of eggs from shopping.

So to see you out here is a close up of some of the Twelve.

img_1147

The pretty girls

Categories: Bent Oak Farm | Tags: | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Rooster May Crow, but the Hen Lays the Egg

  1. There’s always eggnog! Merry Christmas!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

