The Dog is Off

I am usually very conscious of what tools and items I am using cost. I really don’t like to waste anything. Alas, it has been ages since I posted about what was on the loom. I just checked, now I feel really bad. It is better to not look at dates, I posted about this project in September of 2016. Has it been on the loom that long. No wonder not much has been done. I checked that link and there was one before in MAY for starting this. Can I cry over this.

This warp should have been just cut off at some point, but I couldn’t see wasting all that yarn. So on it went once in awhile. I knew I should just cut it off but couldn’t.

IMG_1764

Notice a problem here?

Then this showed up. I wound more on the center two inches than any other of the inches. Well, I just thought I would weave up close and then cut the edges and still weave the center into just a narrow strip. But… the outside bouts broke and came loose. Wasn’t easy to redo and have tension so just dropped them. But after a bit that was the end of my patience with this warp and the scissors came out, and I cut every last one of those inches off. I probably should have done it sooner. But it is done now.

I threw it in the wash and then laid it out to dry and still not pleased with the project, but I was going to go ahead and give a shot at its original purpose and see if it would still work.

IMG_2236

Still not happy but washed.

So all seems ok. Did notice that one of the reds in the thin lines puffed up a bit and shrunk a bit different than the rest of the yarns. Nice little variation to the overall look. Nice chance addition to this cloth. Oops. Did I say something nice about this piece?

IMG_2285

Where did that come from?

But I won’t let that last long. Today I went in and discovered this down the backside. I was finally half pleased to weave this as a 3-1 twill so the stripes showed well on the front and then most of the white was on the back. So though this doesn’t show on the front it has more than a bit of a befuddling about it. There is yellow all about. Actually, just down the two lines. Splatterly. I never noticed it before, and I don’t see it in the above picture. A mystery to add to the misery of this piece. What happened? Not fun to discover on a day of things going south fast. Actually, I did finally start to half laugh today. You can’t have all that happened and just cry.

So anyway the piece is off the loom and I have planned a new project that should be more fun. Just have to order a bunch of yarn. With all I have, I need more.

Now I feel the need to remind myself that this hasn’t been all the fiber I worked on in its time. I have been spinning with my Golding spindle. I also received some yarn at the guild Christmas party. I wove them up on the Zoom Loom and am trying to crochet them together into a vest. Alas, not real happy with it either. Sewed some thrum scarves. So there are other things happening.

But still – YELLOW?!?! I don’t even like yellow. As in I don’t like yellow. My first thought was that the Boys (now named James and John) got in and did the deed. Alas, despite their knack to get to whatever they want, I doubt they’d have gotten up there without destroying the world around them in the process. By that sentence, I guess we all know they have made it into the house on a few occasions. We need a large place, not a pasture size space yet, to contain them now, but alas it is still the backyard and so yes, we have learned that our back door doesn’t latch. Who knew? Not that they get in on their own but they do follow Sam and Mattie inside.

Categories: Fiber, Weaving | Tags: | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “The Dog is Off

  1. Looks like some of the dye ran and showed on the lighter side. You might try washing again and see if it comes out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

