Lena’s Dress Oh Dear, Me, Oh My!

Well, a lot of water has passed under the bridge since I started this project, and no it didn’t get as far as I had wished. After posting last, I looked at my beautiful warp and start and had the biggest groan. There on the right side was a white line so out of place it was glaring. Why didn’t I see it sooner. As in a lot sooner. As in from the very first.

IMG_4328

Wildly out of place white and blue warp threads

So do you cut your loses and start over? I did. I really hate not being able to make something work, but I guess pride does go before the fall as I thought after all it took to get started, I had done it well, and now looking me right in the eye, was this line that couldn’t be ignored. So yes, I took out the scissors and with great sadness cut the cloth off, fixed the warp threads, retied again, and started over. Not getting very far very quickly at all.

So we headed back to weaving again only to keep discovering little problems here and there. Even to the point of not cutting off again, this was a time eater, adding in threads and taking out and doing warp thread fixes to the already started cloth.

IMG_4345

More problem threads

Well, two more here fixed. Alas if you look closely at this cloth you will probably decide that there are other threads that could be fixed as well but we are leaving the rest. Nothing glaringly noticeable.

So we are weaving and we have just over 6 yards woven on a 12 yard warp. Sounds pretty good to be half done. Alas, again, I had wished to have it finished and wet finished by this weekend to take to an event this coming week to get advice on making the dress and getting it started. Alas, and alack. It will not be going though I am tempted to cut off where I am and do what I have. Alas, we all know that I will undoubtedly cut it right in the middle of the bodice or a sleeve and will be at a lose for fabric then. Alas and alack. Yes, this is an alas and alack sort of feeling.

But we must continue on and get it done. It is going better than the stumbling of the first yard that has quite a few problems in the weft, and that ever fussy left selvedge that always tells me I have a ways to go to be good at this. I did manage to start weaving better, the selvedge is better, and the cloth is looking better. I will still have some fixes to make when it is cut off but all in all I am much happier with it, and it will be wonderful when finished, and I can’t wait for the finished dress whether it takes me a decade to finish it.  –  Lord have mercy, I hope it doesn’t take a decade to finish it.

IMG_4334

The pattern of the fabric for the dress

Categories: Fiber, Weaving | Tags: , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Lena’s Dress Oh Dear, Me, Oh My!

  1. Is it uncharitable of me to be relieved that I am not alone in striving for weaving perfection? I look at weavings made by my foremothers and wonder at what they accomplished. Glad to know you are pressing on. Good luck!

    Like

  2. Connie Elliott

    This will be stunning! I think you will be happier when the reed marks are washed out and the log cabin pattern snaps into focus, clear and sharp and so cool!

    Like

  3. I love the look of log cabin. The contrast in your colors make the pattern standout. You will be very pleased with your end results.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

